CS373 Spring 2022: Cole Weinman — Week 6

Cole Weinman
2 min readFeb 28, 2022

--

What did you do this week?

This week my group worked on the React front end for our project. I spent a lot of my time learning React and setting up the hosting on AWS. I also learned how to document an API using Postman. Just recently I worked on the about page for our site.

What’s in your way?

Not knowing a lot about React and Postman was challenging to me. I wish we could have learned some of these tools in class so I could have a better understanding of them. I feel like even when I figure something out, I’m doing it the wrong way because I was never taught better.

What will you do next week?

Next week we will rapidly finish phase 1 of the project. My group needs to work on the technical report and finish up the front end. We will also need to start working on phase 2 soon after.

What did you think of Paper #6: Open-Closed Principle?

It was nice to put a name to a principle I had learned for myself when writing object-oriented code. Whenever I had been working on software in production, I learned quickly how important it was to use this principle in design so that I would not need to change massive parts of the codebase and data that is in production. I want to learn more about design patterns like this.

What was your experience of for in, reduce, object models, and operators?

I have worked with all of these features before in other languages, but it was nice to learn how it works in Python. Reduce in particular is something that I have used quite frequently in the past and am glad that I have a good understanding of it in Python now.

What made you happy this week?

This week I painted my nails which was fun. I haven’t painted my nails in a long time so it felt nice to do it again. I also had Panera Bread for the first time in a while which was nice, I really enjoy their sugar cookies there.

What is your pick-of-the-week?

I came across this article on security when it comes to CSS. Turns out there are a lot of vulnerabilities that you can introduce to your website if you use it improperly. You can read it here: https://scotthelme.co.uk/can-you-get-pwned-with-css

--

--